Get your entries in for the 2020 Astrofest Astrophotography Competition!

Whether you’re a new, beginner or advanced astrophotographer, all Western Australians are eligible to enter.

There are a variety of Awards and Categories to enter.

For the first time this year, Astrotourism WA is proud to be sponsoring an award for the Best Astrotourism WA Nightscape.

This award is specifically for any nightscape photographs from any valid entrant, where the photographs are taken in one of the Astrotourism WA Shire/Local Government localities.

There are numerous eligible localities including:

  • City of Greater Geraldton-Mullewa
  • Shire of Carnamah
  • Shire of Chittering
  • Shire of Coorow
  • Shire of Dandaragan
  • Shire of Lake Grace
  • Shire of Northam
  • Shire of Mingenew
  • Shire of Moora
  • Shire of Morawa
  • Shire of Perenjori
  • Shire of Three Springs
  • Shire of Wagin
  • Shire of West Arthur
  • Shire of Wongan-Ballidu

These Local Governments have been instrumental in supporting an effort in WA’s Mid West and Wheatbelt regions to raise awareness about WA’s incredible dark night sky.

New places for astrophotography and stargazing have been mapped out for each location to encourage visitors from around the world to experience our amazing night sky. In a world where light pollution is destroying our view of the stars, WA’s Local Governments have recognised the important value of our natural asset and are working hard to protect and maintain it for generations to come.

We’re all looking forward to seeing your entries into the Astrofest Astrophotography Competition Astrotourism WA Award. They will showcase the beauty and wonder of dark night skies in country WA.

There’s a beautiful trophy and $200 cash prize for the Best Astrotourism WA Nightscape. Good luck!

Entries close 15th November. For all the details on how to enter, visit the Astronomy WA Astrofest Astrophotography Competition website.

Are you an astrophotographer?

The new Astrofest Astrophotography Competition Astrotourism WA Award has a $200 cash prize!