Noongar people are the traditional owners of the south-west of Western Australia and have been for over 45,000 years. In the Noongar calendar, the months of June and July bring the season of Makuru.

Mainstream education teaches the four seasons of Spring, Summer, Autumn and Winter, but in Western Australia, we have six seasons. These seasons clearly indicate change in weather. Aboriginal culture dates back tens of thousands of years and reveals an astounding knowledge and understanding of the environment.

Through this ancient wisdom, the Noongar people (sometimes spelled Nyoongar or Nyungar) live across the south-west of Western Australia, from Jurien Bay in the north, east to Moora and Esperance in the south. Life was lived according to the six seasons, moving with the availability of various food sources, weather patterns and cultural habits.

The six Noongar Aboriginal Seasons are:

  • Birak (December-January)
  • Bunuru (February-March)
  • Djeran (April-May)
  • Makuru (June-July)
  • Djilba (August-September)
  • Kambarang (October-November)


Makuru sees strong winds, storms, and rain. It’s cold and wet. Communities generally moved away from the stormy coast and further inland for more sheltered locations. Travelling was limited and campfires formed the heart of communities, providing warmth and a place to gather for music and dreamtime storytelling. Food changed to inland sources such as larger grazing animals. Nothing was discarded as bones and sinew were used to make tools such as spears and hides were added to shelters or used as robes.

Understanding the land and identifying the changing seasons has allowed Aboriginal people to live in harmony with their environment for tens of thousands of years. There was no need to change it. Instead it was respected, adapting to seasonal fluctuations throughout the year. The way of life was respectful to the land and animals and it showed a deep understanding of the natural environment.

The night sky also played an important part in day to day life and worked hand in hand with the six seasons. The knowledge of star patterns and dark regions of the night sky represents a calendar that depicts special times of the year. The night sky plays a significant part in cultural beliefs and dreamtime stories.

Artist, Rikki Garlett

The beautiful image above was created by Rikki Garlett, a local Ballardong artist who grew up in Northam. Her ambition is to create traditional art, inspired by the stories of her culture shared to her as a child. She sees her art as a way to share knowledge and connect with the community. If you would like Rikki for other projects, please contact Wheatbelt NRM.

Noongar Season Dateless Planner

WA’s Wheatbelt NRM organisation, in conjunction with the Wheatbelt NRM Elders Advisory Group, has produced a wonderful yearly planner laid out with the Noongar six seasons. It’s a dateless planner and includes photographs and stories from all over the Wheatbelt along with art from local Ballardong artist Rikki Garlett. You’ll discover more about the six Noongar Aboriginal Seasons and the unique Wheatbelt environment. The planner is for sale from Wheatbelt NRM’s website.



The Noongar Season Dateless Planner shows the way to celebrate the year from a different perspective